Why are you here?

Johncarter

Around this block, we have a gazillion reasons for being here. I asked John Carter to tell me his.

I stand here in front of the altar of the chapel at All Saints’ because AIDS is such a fundamental characteristic of my return to a faithful life.

One of the earliest responses of the Episcopal Church to AIDS was a retreat at Kanuga decades ago where I met Bruce Garner (longtime All Saints’ head verger). When my partner and I moved back to Atlanta last year, I came here. I was yearning for a connection with God and I was hungry for religious practices.

aids (1)

Also I am here because I have family history in the neighborhood.   My great grandfather’s house for instance sits under the current Federal Reserve building.

federal-reserve-bank-of-atlanta

My source is my ninety-five year old father who was born in Atlanta.  He is a wonderfully observant and connected kind of guy. A trip down Peachtree with him is like an archaeology dig. He remembers layer upon layer.

John Carter is a newbie verger.  He told me that there are scads of  “John Carters”, like ‘John Carter of Mars’ who was created by Edgar Rice Burroughs before he hit it really big with Tarzan. John Carter was also a James Agee poem and an actual internet genius Somebody even put together a website for all the John Carters in the world, but our John Carter says it is not that interesting.

Why are you here?  I bet there are layer upon layers in the answer to that question.  There are for me.

Martha +

 

 

 

 

John Carter is a newbie verger. I’m glad he is our John Carter.

 

There are so many John Carters, like John Carter of Mars who was created by Edgar Rice Burroughs before he hit it really big with Tarzan. John Carter was also a James Agee poem and an actual internet genius Somebody even put together a website for all the John Carters in the world, but when it was not that interesting.

 

 

Leave a Reply

